Front page photo of woman talking on a phone

2016 Success Story Award Winner Tammy Merrell

Acceptance Speech

Our Community and the Illinois workNet Centers

The services provided by the Illinois workNet Centers are the result of a comprehensive partnership dedicated to providing employment-related services from a single location. The Illinois workNet Centers provide a variety of services for employers and job seekers who are seeking assistance in meeting the challenges of today’s job market. Our goal is to contribute to the local economy by ensuring that the workforce development needs of the community are met. Employers are assisted in the search for qualified employees, while job seekers are able to personalize their job searches and locate career opportunities. We can also help employers to access customized training for their current workforce.

Our Organization

The funds for many of our programs are funded under the provisions of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). Illinois is divided into Local Workforce Areas. Our area, LWIA 23, consists of 14 counties: Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Lawrence, Marion, Moultrie and Richland. The governing body for our area is the Local Workforce Innovation Area 23 Board, which consists of board members that represent the private and public sector of each county.